top of page
  • Writer's pictureArlynnda

Goodwill Glow-up: Barn Accessories

Updated: May 5, 2022

In case you missed it, I found this barn at Goodwill for $1 and renovated it! You can find all the details here.


In this post, I will share all of my sources and DIY instructions for the accessories I included inside! Check it out!


Light fixture:

To make the light fixture I used some balsa wood, a miniature basket, and a small dowel rod. First, I cut two small squares of balsa wood and had Vance drill a small hole in each. I also had him drill a small hole in the bottom of the basket. I used super glue to insert the dowel into one of the wood squares. Then I slid the dowel through the hole we drilled in the basket, and used super glue to attach it. I measured how long I wanted the dowel to be and cut it. Then I used super glue to attach the second wooden square to the other end of the dowel and then glued the square to the ceiling of the barn.


Rug:

To make the rug, I just used this tutorial from Mini Adventures Co. Basically all you do is get this velvet paper from Amazon, take a screenshot of the rug you want, and print it onto the paper! I put the screenshot into PowerPoint so I could make it the exact size I wanted. I suggest printing all of your rugs at once, because it's hard to use the leftover velvet paper once it's cut. I used a photo of this rug we have in our living room and this rug I love.


Chicken Coop:

This turned out to be one of my (and I think everyone else's) favorite things in the barn! I bought this chicken coop from Hobby Lobby. I removed the bottom, including all of the fake moss, and replaced it with a piece of balsa wood that I cut to size and super glued. Then I painted the coop with FolkArt acrylic paint in Crushed Coral. I painted the wire in the door with a FolkArt acrylic paint in Vintage White.


Flower Boxes:

To make the flower boxes, I used coffee stirrers and balsa wood. Cut two rectangles of balsa wood to the same size for the front and back of the flower boxes. Then cut three pieces of a coffee stirrer to make the sides and bottom. I used super glue to put it together so I didn't have to wait for it to dry. Then I used the paint and water mixture to "stain". Next, I cut some dried flowers, then filled the bottom of the flower box with hot glue and quickly stuck them inside. I attached the flower boxes to the barn with wood glue.


Peg Hook:

To make the peg hook, I cut a rectangular piece of balsa wood, then asked Vance to drill four holes that matched the size of these small dowel rods. Then I used wood glue to insert and attach them. Then I used my paint and water mixture to "stain" it and used wood glue to attach it to the wall.


Rope:

I made this rope using this leather string. Just wind in a circle and then wrap another small piece around and hot glue to secure.


Wheelbarrow:

I bought this wheelbarrow from Hobby Lobby and painted it with acrylic paints. I used extra dry flowers from the flower boxes to make a bouquet.


Egg Hunt Sign:

This sign is from a dollhouse collection of printable Easter signs from @threadmama_story. I made the post from these small dowel rods and a balsa wood base.


Butterfly Banner:

These small butterfly pictures are also from @threadmama_story and I attached them to this pompom trim.


Pampas Grass Vases:

These vases were made from these wooden candle cups. I used this boutonnière pick for the "pampas grass" and added some dried flowers I already had at home.



PRODUCT LINKS:

Dollhouse Supplies:


Craft supplies:



Happy crafting!

♡Arlynnda

598 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • LikeToKnow.it
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page